Day 1: An experiment

So I thought I should try get some discipline in my lifestyle. I am generally a go with the flow person. I don’t plan my day-to-day life very well. My excuse has always been that I am too busy experiencing life to waste time on planning it. I think I am very low maintenance so I generally like my place in the world on most days.

But of late, life hasn’t been so great, I am feeling sluggish & hopeless. My head’s always aching and I can’t sleep at night. Happiness is not as easy somehow. So I decided I need to take control of my life and my mind and see where it leads me.

Duration: 108 days.

I thought 108 is short enough to keep this interesting and long enough to see concrete results. And it might also have to do with the fact that I just finished reading Eat, Pray and Love by Elizabeth Gilbert which is divided into 108 chapters. I didn’t like the book much, it seemed like a tiresome exercise in narcissism on the author’s part. Anyway the number 108 also has some sacred significance in Hinduism and I need all the luck I can get, so 108!

Tasks to do:

1)Pray

2)Go to the gym( 10 kg in 2 years, that’s how much I have put on, 6 in the last one year)

3)Eat Right

4)Write a post

5)Give a daily report on the blog

So starting today lets’ see:

14th August 2010

1) Pray: done

2)Gym: done

100 cal, 15 mins (good start?)

3)Eat right:

Lunch: rice, veggies

Snack: cheese zaatar

Dinner: veggies, Banana

4)Blog post: Done

I wasn’t sure I should give it out in writing that I was going to try this for 108 days, just in case I don’t see it through. My track record with stuff like this is embarrassing to say the least. I always start out with gusto and lose steam mid way. But now it’s up here and I want to finish this time.

So wish me luck. Also I am a newbie at the gyming-dieting and positivity thing. So suggestions are most welcome.

~ by Red on August 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
